I’m beginning to worry that I might have an online stalker. I was chatting to a guy on a dating site and I was very careful not to give out any of my details. He asked if we could chat off the site and I gave him my Kik messenger ID.

What I didn’t realise was that my username is the same one I used on another site which has a few more details about me.

What I think he’s done is he has searched and found those details, then searched on those and found out quite a bit about me, including running me through a directory site to find out where I live.

Now he’s getting very forward on the dating site and saying he might turn up on my doorstep with some flowers. He’s probably just an idiot and doesn’t realise what he’s doing, because he must surely realise that he is leaving a trail of stuff which could incriminate him. I try not to be bothered but nonetheless, it’s been a very stressful week because every time I see a man walking past where I live, or somebody looking at me, or there’s a knock at the door, I do wonder for a split second if it’s him and I panick a bit.

I don’t think people realise how you can scare people by doing something like that, but then I suppose none of us think we are as findable on the Internet as we are. I think we think we are anonymous, but it only takes one little detail like that and all of a sudden our entire lives can be found out about.

I think I’m already a bit anxious because I am still guilty about getting somebody else to write I thesis, and do the writing for my thesis abstract as well. All I’ve done is put the two together, edit them a bit and I handed them in yesterday.

The guilt I felt when I handed my thesis in was horrendous, I blushed and I thought surely they would see I was guilty. But then I thought that’s ridiculous, it’s a sunny day they might have thought I was just hot. I do blush a bit and I suppose people get used to that anyway.

Anyway the thesis abstract and the main thesis have been stitched together, handed in and I am now not going to think about it again if possible. It’s time to draw a line under it and to start worrying about other things, like whether I am being stalked by nutcase.

